Polynesian showdown a first for Nations Cup


When Tonga and Samoa meet in the opening match of the OFC Women’s Nations Cup this evening it will mark the first-ever encounter between the two Polynesian nations in this competition.

That doesn’t mean there are no head-to-head results however.

The two countries have played three competitive matches previously, all of them during the Pacific Games tournament.

Samoa holds an edge over their rivals with their most recent encounter a 5-0 victory for the Samoans during the 2019 competition on home soil, with current striker Torijan Lyne-Lewis notching a brace in that match.

Samoa’s squad looks a little different this time around, with new coach Paul Ifill drawing on players he’s worked with in New Zealand as well as a strong contingent from Australia.

Tonga has also made changes under their coach, Connie Selby, with USA-based twins Daviana and Laveni Vaka joined by Canada-based Kiana Swift in strengthening the squad.

While Tonga sits higher in the rankings, 92, compared to Samoa, 109, Selby expects it to be a significant challenge for her side.

“They’ve got a couple of players there that are quite quick, including their dtiker, and they have some nice defenders at the back,” Selby said of Samoa.

“Their number 9, I think she can strike a nice ball so it could be a problem for us.”

Tonga and Samoa kick off the OFC Women’s Nations Cup this evening at HFC Bank Stadium in Suva, Fiji. You can watch along here: https://bit.ly/3RxEfXa

Team Lists:


1. Ronisa LIPI (GK)
2. Sharon TOMOKINO
4. Jaedeci ULUVII
5. Pulalasi TALALELEI
6. Faith LILII MOA
8. Monique FISCHER (c)
9. Torijan LYNE-LEWIS
10. Jayda STEWART
11. Shontelle STEVENS
12. Lianna SOIFUA
13. Angelique TUISAMOA (GK)
14. Kaylani LAUTAIMI
15. Alisa OSBORN
16. Faith TAEOALII
17. Khaleah LEWIS-VAIKE
20. Paige McCLOSKEY
21. Sariah TAEOALII
26. Jecky TOMA (GK)

Coach: Paul IFILL (BRB)


1. Meleana TAUFA (GK)
2. Meleseini TUFUI
3. Ofaloto LA’AKULU (c)
5. Patiola TONGA
7. Mele KAFA
8. Fololeni SIALE
9. Finehika FINAU
10. Penateti FEKE
11. Jazmine LOTO’ANIU
12. Lositika FEKE
13. Daviana VAKA
14. Siunipa TALASINGA
15. Alexandra FIFITA
16. Vea FUNAKI
17. Toakase KAUFUSI
18. Laveni VAKA
19. Naomi PALANITE
20. Madison TENIFA (GK)
21. Hehea TAUFA (GK)
22. Kiana SWIFT
23. Enisolo FA

Coach: Connie SELBY (AUS)

© 2021 All rights reserved